There are a couple of different business licenses you can choose from when applying for medical marijuana or recreational marijuana license. Here we highlight the Michigan Class A Grower License.
This grow license type allows up to 100 plants (Adult Use) and/or up to 500 plants (MMFLA Medical). Determining plant count from the MRA
Initial Licensing fees
First, your municipality must “opt-in” by writing an ordinance to allow cannabis growing in their area. The municipal council might include a municipality fee and you must contact them to find out if there are local municipality fees (of up to $5,000 per local license). Then you must pay the State a nonrefundable application fee of $3,000 for a background check from the state of Michigan to make sure that you and/or your business partners qualify as Applicants. Some of this fee is reserved for the Step 2 (Facility) application process.
If you are applying for an MMFLA Medical cannabis license the state of Michigan requires that you prove you have sufficient startup funds for the business. Applying for a Class A MMFLA Grower License from the state of Michigan requires you to show not less than $150,000 in accessible capital. This includes at least 25% ($37,500) minimum in liquid assets that are cash or can easily be converted into: cash, CDs, stocks, or bonds.
Read more about Class A Grower License Capitalization Requirement from the MRA
These laws and rules are changing daily! Please call the Michigan Cannabis Lawyers today to schedule a consultation to get the most updated information and help with your Class A Grower License. Call us today at 517-512-8364